Pickling

I have a bit of an old young lady in me. Which means, I enjoy canning, pickling, sewing, painting, knitting, you get the point…

I’m a closet grandma. Yep. You read that right. This 20-something-year-old is a CLOSET (well maybe everyone knows, but i’ll pretend they don’t) Grandma.

Sad, I know…I’m very accepting of it though. So, you should be too.

Now, onto the fun stuff :

Pickling–

 An edible product, such as a cucumber, that has been preserved and flavored in a solution of brine or vinegar.
Well, sort’ve. But, not in this case. I am not making pickles. I am actually just pickling banana peppers. I’ve picked so many from the garden, of which I must do something with asap. This is by far the easiest thing to do. It also provides you with not only some for yourself, but also for gifts! Wonderful, I know…

First, washed then cut up the peppers. (You can cut to whatever thickness you prefer.)

Peppers
{These are rather colorful! I love the mixture of the red and yellow in the jars…}

After I finish cutting the peppers, I work on the sauce. This particular recipe is made with 2 pounds of peppers–

Sauce :

  • 1 1/2 Cups Water
  • 1 1/2 Cups White Vinegar
  • 4 Teaspoons Salt

Directions :

  1. Wash and cut the peppers
  2. Make the sauce and bring it to a boil
  3. Wash out jars
  4. Place a piece of garlic in the bottom of each jar
  5. Fill the jars with peppers
  6. Cover the peppers in the jar with the sauce
  7. Move around the peppers in each jar to be sure there are no bubbles
  8. Seal the jar
  9. Enjoy after 24 hours!

jarsBeautiful, eh?

Easy to tie a ribbon around and give as a gift! 

newsig

Leave Some Love

